What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Cover Heat Loss Question  (Read 4564 times)

ridgeback13

Cover Heat Loss Question
« on: November 23, 2005, 09:21:03 pm »
Hi,

I have a D1 Diplomat and am going into my first winter with it here in Ontario, Canada.  I have noticed vapor coming out the sides of the cover at the seam when it is cold out and when it snows, the snow melts along the seam line.  Is this normal?.  The tub has been great so far and the energy usage has been good as well. I just want to make sure the standard D1 cover is going to do the job adequately for the upcoming winter.

Hot Tub Forum

Cover Heat Loss Question
« on: November 23, 2005, 09:21:03 pm »

bosco0633

• Look into my eyes
Re: Cover Heat Loss Question
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2005, 09:24:36 pm »
that does not sound good to me.  I just posted pics, check them out.  No snow loss at the seem and no heat out the sides.  Only steam was when the tub cover opened.

pruned_hands

• Hot Springs Grandee Lover
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2005, 10:25:23 pm »
I am a new spa owner as well and I was wondering how well these covers work as I shoveled 6" of snow of it tonight.  You might consider finding a pool solar cover and cutting it to size.  This would lay on top of the water under the dimension cover.   Some posts have suggested this as a plus toward heat retention.  Others worried about the inside solar cover messing up filtration.  In theory, it sounds like a good idea to me.

let's see what others have to say....

J._McD

« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2005, 10:32:59 pm »
#1.) Are your air venturri's closed?  If you have air bubbles being introduced within the jet streams, close your air venturri's.  Passing air through the water, only introduces air to be exhausted where the air pressure can be released, the seams.  You will see steam and icicles will form.

ridgeback13

« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2005, 11:03:07 pm »
Sorry, Not quite sure what you mean by venturi's being closed?

tony