What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Is MPS necessary with Nature 2?  (Read 3227 times)

sunnydee

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Is MPS necessary with Nature 2?
« on: November 08, 2005, 10:18:42 am »
I'm still coping with green tinted water, but at this point I'm convinced it's metals oxidizing. I test with the Nature 2 strips in the morning and my MPS levels are always low, even if I've added it the night before after bathing. To me all the MPS does is fizz a little when added to the water. I started using dichlor after bathing. Could anyone tell me if MPS is necessary? If so, could you suggest a routine since I'm new to this whole chemical thing. By the way, my ph and alkalinity are OK.
Thanks.

Hot Tub Forum

Is MPS necessary with Nature 2?
« on: November 08, 2005, 10:18:42 am »

ssbraun

• '05 Maxxus
Re: Is MPS necessary with Nature 2?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2005, 10:43:13 am »
I'd check out this website if you haven't already:

http://www.nature2.com/

Steve

marks

• 2005 Beachcomber 580
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2005, 12:18:34 pm »
I use Nature 2 with dichlor only.  I add a teaspoon after use and 1.5 tablespoons once a week.  Everything has been perfect for about 2 months now.  Without Nature 2 I had all kinds of problems.

svspa

• Jacuzzi J-345
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2005, 04:03:21 pm »
sunnydee,

I think the nature 2 site you were directed to says dichlor can be substituted for MPS.

I am currently using ozone, nature 2 and dichlor. I add about 1/2 tbs after use and about 2 tbs weekly as a shock and super sanitizer.

There are a couple of good FAQs on the whole spa maintenance thing on the following site.

http://www.rhtubs.com/bbs/FAQ.htm

Look for the FAQs about Northman's and Vermonter's routines.

I think Northman basically suggests a combination of MPS and dichlor while Vermonter recommends dichlor and says you can substitute MPS for your weekly shock, but you lose the super sanitizing effect of a dichlor shock.

Steve

SerjicalStrike