What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: chemicals or no chemicals???  (Read 3279 times)

mika_molli

• NEW 2 TUBS
chemicals or no chemicals???
« on: November 03, 2005, 11:51:28 am »
I am new to hot tubs and learning lots.  I just purchased
a used tub and am setting it up now.  I am hoping to use as few chemicals as possible as they bother my wife.  I have a friend that says he only uses PH down in his tub when needed along with the ozonator and that is all.  He says his water is clear, no foam, smells great, no scum and he only changes water 2 maybe 3 times a year.  I like the sounds of this idea of virtually no chemicals.  Does anyone else run their tub this way???  I have bought a new filter called MicroPure with which you are not supposed to need chemicals either.  Any thoughts on the no chemical way???

Hot Tub Forum

chemicals or no chemicals???
« on: November 03, 2005, 11:51:28 am »

Bonibelle

• Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • '05 Marquis Epic
Re: chemicals or no chemicals???
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2005, 12:05:26 pm »
Oh Boy!, You may want to check out the thread "technical questions for the experts".... :-/
Support your dealer so they can support you!

drewstar

• Mentor Level Member
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2005, 12:05:27 pm »
I find it unbelieveable that your freind only uses an ozinator and PH down and changes his water every 4 months and has not water quality issues.

No way.   Unless he is the only one who uses the tub, has perfect water out of the tap, showers before entering the tub,  wears no bathing suit, is completey bald and shaved everywhere, and only uses the tub 8 times a year.  (twice per water change). No way.

I am far from an expert, but  oweded a tub for a few years... I use dichlor and an ozinator and it works well for me.   I found the bromine floats were horrible for my skin. Others here have siad just the opposite.  

You definately want to read up about Ozinators, Dichlor and bromine and silver ion here in this forum.