What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: I ordered a Marquis Epic today  (Read 2654 times)

Hankster

• A soaker seeker
I ordered a Marquis Epic today
« on: September 07, 2005, 02:35:41 pm »
I ordered a Marquis Epic today.  I have been shopping around and doing research for about 8 months, and finally bit the bullet today.

You may recall I started a thread a few weeks ago about (what I considered) a sky high quote of $11,500 for the Epic. Thanks to many of you here, I was able to go back with a reasonable counter offer.  While I don't know the exact dealer price, I can read between the lines enough to see it's probably about $8,000.  As someone pointed out, for whatever reason spas seem to run a little bit higher here in the southeast (I am in Columbia SC). I think that is partly due to the transportation distance from most manufacturers but mostly due to low volume sales.  Spas are just seeming to catch on in this part of the country, and I know the local Marquis dealer is a very low volume dealer.  I doubt he sells more than 12 spas a year (he is mostly a swimming pool builder).

With all that in mind, I said that unless they could offer me a price in which the first digit was an 8 or 9, I was not interested in playing.  I figure this would cover the cost of the spa, transportation on a single order from Oregon to S.C., and about $1000 profit.  So I was not surprised when I was given a price of $9850.  Do I think this is a good deal?  No, but it is acceptable, (and certainly much better than the original $11,500) and hopefully will put me in good graces with the dealer when I need service.