What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: How much is delivery and setup worth?  (Read 3919 times)

Mike134

How much is delivery and setup worth?
« on: February 08, 2005, 09:56:27 pm »
I'm buying a hot tub that's a 04 model here in Chicago and hauling it myself to Upper Michigan. The dealer's closeout price included cover chemicals steps setup and delivery. Since I'm doing the delivery myself how much more in savings would be fair to expect?  The electrical hookup will be the easy part (I'm an electrician) reniforcing the elevated deck to a 100 PSF rating and getting a crane will be the challenge

Hot Tub Forum

How much is delivery and setup worth?
« on: February 08, 2005, 09:56:27 pm »

Spa_Tech

• Independent Spa technician
Re: How much is delivery and setup worth?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2005, 10:35:56 pm »
Since I'm doing the delivery myself how much more in savings would be fair to expect?

This is somewhat of a trick question. In most cases, the spa is priced with delivery included. Most dealers I've dealt with, have had a $200.00 allowance for delivery costs. Realistically though, the delivery charge is proportionate to the difficulty, distance and duration that the actual installation requires. Crane services often drastically increase the charges as most companies have a two hour minimum at rates topping $100 an hour. Mileage also plays a factor...

But if you want to pat yourself on the back, just credit yourself for a $500.00 'virtual' savings. Whether you actual saved real dollars though in my opinion is debatable, because the guys that deliver spas for a living dont sweat nearly as much as 'Joe Customer' does delivering their own. ::)

Brewman

• Ultimate Member
  • Lead me not into temptation- I can find it myself!
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2005, 08:19:09 am »