What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Coleman vs HotSpring  (Read 8111 times)

ProfMark

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Coleman vs HotSpring
« on: January 26, 2005, 11:19:45 pm »
I am new to purchasing a hot tub and I am down to two units - a Hot Spring Vanguard or a Coleman 705.

The tough issue I am trying to figure out is the contradictions I hear from both sides:

1.  Full foam is better (HS)  because it is better insulating.
2.  Open (ie, not full foam) is better because there is easier access if there is a repair or leak down the road (coleman)
3.  A pump must be ventilated to keep it operating cooler and lasting longer (HS)
4.  A pump should not be ventilated since the extra heat stays in the unit and helps to heat the tub. (coleman)
6.  Hot Springs continously circulates the water with a seperate pump.
7.  Coleman states the small pump doesn't do as good a job filtering as a 'part time' pump that is pumping bigger volumes
8.  Coleman is made with a metal frame vs a wood frame for Hot Springs.  (does this matter?)

They both have the same warranties.  I've also seen as much plus or minus as far as reliability and overall quality
for each unit.

Does anyone have any final opinions on a Coleman vs a Hot Springs?  (This is worse than buying a car!!)

Am I missing any other brands in this same category?

Hot Tub Forum

Coleman vs HotSpring
« on: January 26, 2005, 11:19:45 pm »

Steve

• Ultimate Member
Re: Coleman vs HotSpring
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2005, 11:32:04 pm »
Let me start by saying both are good spas. If one way didn't work, one of those units would be out of business I'm guessing.

Have you wet tested either? You bet this worse than buying a car becasue that we know about and have owned one before. Once you purchase your second spa, you'll feel better on what is really important besides some of the sales pitches you mentioned above.