What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Metals and Spa Water  (Read 1990 times)

Max78

Metals and Spa Water
« on: January 10, 2005, 05:01:35 pm »
Just filled my spa last night and took a sample of water to the spa store (not where I purchased it since it is 90 miles away).  I have fought water with a greenish tint for some time and wanted to compare my numbers I was getting with theirs.  Plus it was time to change the water.  My shell is white with grey and tan flecks (Sahara).  When my tub is freshly filled (no chems added) my water is a very nice shade of blue.  I've been using a Taylor Test kit that I've had for a couple of years that I store in the house and also use on my pool.  I'm not sure of the shelf life of the reagents so I wanted to verify my results.  This is before any chemicals have been added.
              Mine        Theirs
PH           7.6           7.5
Chlor       0.5           0.0
Calcium    200         233
Akalinity   170         163
TDS(I have no test)  50
So I'm happy with the numbers especially for a fresh fill.  Alkalinity might be a little high but I'll wait and see what it is going to do.  

They also tested for metals and this was their results (I don't have anything to test metals with):
Copper                      0
Iron                           0