What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Power Requirements (30/40/50/60)  (Read 9622 times)

lookielook

Power Requirements (30/40/50/60)
« on: December 10, 2004, 05:12:17 pm »
We are close to joining the hot tub/spa ranks but had an unfortunate discovery.  I am no electrician, but apparently our house only has 30 amps of power left that could be dedicated to the tub, unless we want to drag in more power.  As I understand it, we can run a unit on 30 amps, but the heater won't work when we turn the pumps on, I don't like the sound of that.  Anyone with creative solutions and/or is there any model/brand where the bells and whistles all work on less power?  Maybe I just look at smaller models?  Thus far we were looking at Sundance Cameo/Optima and Jacuzzi 365, and will probably look at a few more.  Thanks for any ideas.

Hot Tub Forum

Power Requirements (30/40/50/60)
« on: December 10, 2004, 05:12:17 pm »

Wheeler

• Sundance Optima owner
Re: Power Requirements (30/40/50/60)
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2004, 05:22:39 pm »
Hi, just a couple questions to help clarify and then everyone will be able to give best advice...

Did an electrician tell you that you don't have enough power to run a spa, or how did you come by this info?  What service does your house have?  (older homes frequently have 100 amp service, newer homes typically have 200 amp service)

I have an Optima, and was fortunately able to run 60 amp service, but I definitely could have gotten by with 50 amps, and probably less.  You can run the spa on 30 amps, but if you live in a colder climate you'll definitely want to be able to run the pumps and heater at same time.  

I recommend getting at least 3 bids from electricians to evaluate your current situation and determine what you can and can't do and how much it'll cost.

HotTubMan

• My 2.1 cents, eh
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2004, 05:27:24 pm »
Another important question:

Where do you live and how cold does it get?