What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: scum is driving me nuts  (Read 8211 times)

txwillie

scum is driving me nuts
« on: November 09, 2004, 05:50:42 pm »
I'm new to the spa thing. Exactly 2 months since delivery/fill. I have a Marquis Quest with the SpaFrog bromine and mineral inline cartridges and UV ozone. I've had in ground pools for the last 8 years and the chem balance on those was no problem, but this spa is driving me nuts.

I've tested the water myself and taken samples to a local pool supply place for testing (the dealer I purchased from is in the DFW metroplex, but still 25-30 miles away). Everything tests near  "spot on", PH 7.6, TA a little low @ 60, hardness 160, zero metals, not tested for TDS but the guy @ Leslie's said with convincing authority that 2 month old city of Dallas water would be fine on TDS. Other than the SCUM, I have had no other water issues.

Problem is the SCUM that forms at the waterline. It looks like chicken fat. Totally gross. I've tried the enzyme scum eater products. I can't see that they help at all.  I only rinse out the bathing suit, so soap is not the problem. I don't normally shower before soaking, but I don't think I should have to under normal conditions. Cannot believe that a little antiperspirant could cause all this.

I use the spa almost daily. Recently just me for 45 minutes in the morning, at least 5-6 days a week.

I get what I consider to be normal foam levels with the air on (small clear bubbles that dissipate quickly and virtually none with the air off) except that I do get larger greasy looking bubbles/crud in eddys, and that is where the scum forms.

I first thought that I was keeping the sanitizer levels too low, and maybe not shocking enough (I use MPS for that). This past week I've upped both. Bromine has been 3-5 PPM and I've shocked it hard 3 times this week. Don't think I'll be able to get back into it for at least a day since bromine is reading over 10 PPM.

I've cleaned and swapped out filters.