What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Shocking and Cover Damage  (Read 10171 times)

TALKCalgary.com

Shocking and Cover Damage
« on: October 10, 2004, 03:06:31 pm »
I have been recommended to shock our bromine spa water with 188 grams of Bromate each week. This takes our bromine level from 4ppm right off the scale. It then takes several hours to come back down to the 4 ppm level. Do I have to leave the cover off during this time? When our Canadian winter kicks in and temperatures drops, leaving the cover off is not something I would like to do if I can help it. At what level can I safely close the cover without it being in danger of disintegrating?  :-[

Steve

Hot Tub Forum

Shocking and Cover Damage
« on: October 10, 2004, 03:06:31 pm »

ttodd1

• Life is so much better in my Cameo
Re: Shocking and Cover Damage
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2004, 06:18:02 pm »
I would say 30 minutes.  but I'm no expert.

UnderTheStars

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2004, 07:50:43 pm »
Newbie here (2 months) so I'm basically guessing and going by what I've read here.  I use chlorine and when I shock I leave it open about 20 minutes.

Now that the weather is getting cooler I'm trying something new - Prop one side of the cover by sticking two empty pop cans in foam cozies under the edge.  Holds it open about 4"   It lets the tub vent a little but doesn't lose as much heat?  (I think someone here suggested something like this.)  Long-term effect = I have no idea  :-/

I have read here that it's a trade-off:  On one hand the sanitizer will shorten life of the vinyl cover.  On the other hand, leaving tub open all winter . . .well, you know.  I'm leaning the direction that I want a reasonable electric bill.
Stars
« Last Edit: October 10, 2004, 07:52:33 pm by UnderTheStars »

Jordy

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2004, 09:07:51 pm »
Hi TALKCalgary,