What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Newbie, going to look at a used Nordic tub  (Read 2672 times)

billfred

Newbie, going to look at a used Nordic tub
« on: May 12, 2020, 07:55:18 am »
Hello,

I'm a newbie here.  I'm driving an hour this afternoon to go check out a slightly used Nordic Retreat MS.  Person bought it new in 2018, used it once.  Got divorced and had it professionally moved to her new place.  It was never hooked back up.

Pics look great.  Since it's not hooked up or filled, I can't test anything.  Any advice on what I should keep an eye out for?

I guess the warranty is non-transferable.

Hot Tub Forum

Newbie, going to look at a used Nordic tub
« on: May 12, 2020, 07:55:18 am »

ratchett

Re: Newbie, going to look at a used Nordic tub
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2020, 09:17:25 am »
So the tub was moved to new place, never hooked up......  That doesn't guarantee that the lines were properly drained and "winterized".  There's a chance some residual water in the lines could have froze up and burst some plumbing.

I'd fill it up with water and ensure it doesn't leak like crazy when filled with water.   As long as it holds water it might be a good deal, I hear Nordic tubs are pretty decent tubs for the price

billfred

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2020, 09:57:08 am »
Would I need to fill it all the way up? 

And I could check for leaks without running it?

ratchett

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2020, 11:15:42 am »
Would I need to fill it all the way up? 

And I could check for leaks without running it?

Need to fill it enough to cover all the jets should be enough - need water to enter the plumbing fully so you can see if it's leaking.  I'd have the person start filling the tub now so you can check it out fully filled by the time you get there (look for any wet leaks around the tub when you get there).  Bring a sump pump to drain the tub quickly afterwards.