What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Pump Motors  (Read 2721 times)

xiansam

Pump Motors
« on: November 14, 2018, 12:08:30 am »
In late May I had a hail storm take out my cover and it was close to putting the hot tub in summer mode which means I don't use it for several months.  I turn it off but keep it chlorinated.   This year I went through my normal start up procedures and my controller didn't work.   I'll mention that I'm an engineer.  That doesn't mean that I don't make bone headed mistakes, I've made a career of it.  I'm on here because I'm stumped, you are experts and I have 1000 gallons of cold water in my back yard.  I digress.....  I bought a new (exact same) controller and wired it in using the exact same jumper settings as previous.  I metered my power and it was good.  I fired everything up and I had a flow error.  I shorted the flow sensor and determined that it was good and indeed my primary pump was not operating at 1/2 speed and was humming.  The primary pump would operate on high speed. This is an older tub that I got from a friend last year, I've had tubs for 18 years.  Figuring that it was the start capacitor, I ordered both start and run capacitors for both pumps figuring that the pumps were old and if a capacitor went bad it usually meant others were soon to follow and they were cheep.   When I power cycle the unit with the breaker the primary pump works sometime but not all the time and usually not for very long.  I took the armature out of the motor and inspected it. It looked good so I greased the bearings and put it back together.  I read in another post this evening that I should check for 0 ohms between low/hi and common.  It is dark and cold and I haven't done that yet.  The other pump runs and shuts off sporadically also.  I have only replaced the capacitors.  My meter won't test capacitance. (maybe I'll buy one tomorrow) There is a chance that I got el-cheap-o caps that don't work.  I also tested fuse continuity in my control box.