What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: First Fill of hot tub, questions on chemistry  (Read 2024 times)

rayf01

First Fill of hot tub, questions on chemistry
« on: July 23, 2018, 01:44:57 am »
So, I got my hot tub back together with the new motor/pump and seals. This is my first time filling it, so I had the local store test my tap water, results below:

TDS: 250 ppm
Alkalinity: 110 ppm
PH 7.4
Calcium: 130 ppm
Free Chlorine 4ppm
Combined Chlorine 0ppm
Iron: 0 ppm
Copper: 0ppm

So with the above results I have a few questions:

1. With my TDS at 250, however my iron and copper at 0, do I really need to use any additive to remove metals and prevent staining upon the first fill? I have spoke to other people in the area and they never do. I did fill without it already and I also added some Calcium Hardness Increaser to try bring my calcium up to the 150-200 range so I will test that shortly, buts its the only thing I can think of for balancing right now that I need to do I believe? If I need to add the metal remove stuff, can I still do it?

2. My alkalinity and PH seem to be bang on out of the tap. Therefore I shouldn't need to add anything at all right now right?

3. Shocking and Sanitizing: I used a non chlorinated shock first tonight, I haven't added any sanitizer yet. A friend gave me chemicals from his spa that he just sold with a house. I have two types of chlorine granules. One says CHLOR on the bottle and is 65% Calcium Hypochlorite. The second says Stabilized Chlorine Granules and is 100% Sodium Dichloro-S-Triazinetrione. Which is the better one to use to sanitize my spa? I was reading that both either add calcium or CYA to the water.

Should I consider using Bromine instead which doesn't do this?

4. Is Free Chlorine the level of Chlorine I need in my spa to stay between 3 ppm and 5 ppm or is it the combined chlorine? My Free is already at 4ppm out of the tap...