What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Septic system and spa chemicals  (Read 11357 times)

doodoo

• Sundance Optima Owner - and lovin' it
Re: Septic system and spa chemicals
« Reply #15 on: September 01, 2004, 09:25:26 am »
Is there such a thing as a 'septic system forum' anywhere? I'm very intersetd in this question since we are building a home on a septic tank and you can be sure we plan to put a spa in it! ( Uh, in the HOUSE, not in the septic tank...)

I have no experience with life on a septic system...other than holding tanks which just get pumped out when full.

Chas. You can obtain a lot of information on the building and management of a septic system from the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation. There is also a lot of information from the Canada Research Council in residential.  Here are a couple of links.

http://www.cmhc-schl.gc.ca/en/index.cfm

http://irc.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/irccontents.html

If you search septic systems in both you will get a ton of information.

Hot Tub Forum

« Reply #15 on: September 01, 2004, 09:25:26 am »

aaahhh

• aaahhh now that feels good!  04 Marquis Euphoria
« Reply #16 on: September 01, 2004, 09:48:38 am »
Thank you for the information. I use soft soak with Peroxide. I know the Peroxide is also a grem killer. But does it break down faster than clorine. I use Ridex every month or two. Our county demands we pump every 3 years need it or not. Our system is 10 years old and never once had a problem. I want to keep it that way.

The only chemicals that make it down the drain are only from the filters. As when I just rinse them off with high pressure or let them soak in  the sink with filter cleaner. Then again rinse them with clean high pressure water.

Thank you all.

aaahhh

Chas

• Mentor Level Member
  • Hot water is Cool.
    • Spas etc.
« Reply #17 on: September 01, 2004, 11:25:40 am »
Thanks also!