What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Well water vs softner water  (Read 3289 times)

Constance

• I love my Bahia
Well water vs softner water
« on: August 24, 2004, 11:10:33 pm »
Our well water has a lot of iron in it.   :-/
I had one dealer say we need to use our well water to fill our new spa and one dealer say to use the softner water.  What do most of you country people do?  ::) ???
Connie

Hot Tub Forum

Well water vs softner water
« on: August 24, 2004, 11:10:33 pm »

new owner

Re: Well water vs softner water
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2004, 09:46:42 am »
I'm no expert but we are also on well water. We were told by several sources NOT to use softened water. Not sure why but it seems soft water is not good for your hot tub, and in some cases doing so can VOID YOUR WARRANTY.

There are chemicals that can take the metals out of your water, so that may be the way to go. (This is what our neighbor with LOTS of metals in his water did, and they have had crystal clean water for months.)

You should take a water sample to your dealer and get advice on this. OR maybe some eperts here can weigh in....

HotTubMan

• My 2.1 cents, eh
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2004, 10:49:54 am »
Water softened with salt based products will cause metal (ball bearings, heaters) to corrode and oxidize quickly. An iron filter works. You will get alot of the iron out with scale inhibitors and filtration.
Homeworks Financing Representative

Warkovision

• West and Wewaxsation, at Wast!
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2004, 11:25:53 am »
Perhaps one of those magnetic water treatment systems would help? ;)

aaahhh

• aaahhh now that feels good!  04 Marquis Euphoria
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2004, 12:42:23 am »