What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Ready to make a decision...South Seas 748B vs. Hotspot Rhythm  (Read 4639 times)

schooldaze

Greetings All,

This is a cross post from another forum... I'm an idiot and signed up for the wrong forum the first time around.  Was wondering why no one responded to my post...Bah!  Anyways... I am a newbie (in every sense of the word) when it comes to spas. However, after much thought, I think we would get more use out of the spa vs. a swimming pool.  I've been shopping over the past couple of weeks, have read these forums for hours and have narrowed my search to the South Seas 748B (Artesian) and Hotspot Rhythm (Hot Springs) as they are within my budget.

I was quoted for the South Seas $6799... all inclusive (ozonator), cover, steps, delivery, start-up chemicals, cover lifter for the Hotspot Rhythm I was quoted $5995 but that only included delivery, start-up chemicals and cover.  The steps, cover lifter and ozonator were extras totaling about $900 with 25% discount (they were running a special on the Rhythm and accessories) so total came to approximately $6800, of course this doesn't include tax. 

We dry tested both and they "seemed" comfortable, but y'all are right, wet testing would be best, however they did not have these models filled. Ok... so like buying a car without test driving.,, sighs.  I had many questions for the sales folks (thanks to y'all), so Hot Springs offered to send a rep out to talk to me about placement (having my patio repaired in a couple of weeks and want to make sure we're able to raise the patio to allow for run-off but not exceed 1/10" (1/8" max?) per foot. 

So... here are my questions:

1. From a quality/reliability standpoint which do you think is better?  (I believe the South Seas had 3 year parts/labor while Hotspot was 2 year parts/labor).

2. Do you think the prices quoted are fair?

3.  Which would you choose and why?

4. Do you have any other recommendations in a similar price range?