What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Help with high PH  (Read 2055 times)

novice888

Help with high PH
« on: July 14, 2016, 08:06:26 am »
I am new to all of this and have inherited a hot tub with our new house.  It is all fully cleaned and filled up, but I can not seem to balance the PH.

I have bought Jacuzzi PH- as i live in a hard water area and AquaChek is showing a pink high PH.
Despite adding now 3 tablespoons at 3 seperate times last night and today, the PH is still in the pink zone.
Do I just continue?
I have been disolving it in water first before pouring it in.
My weighing scales is out of batteries and thus the reason for the tablespoon method.  I have figures that 11grams is roughly 1 tablespoon

Hot Tub Forum

Help with high PH
« on: July 14, 2016, 08:06:26 am »

BullFrogSpasMN

Re: Help with high PH
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2016, 11:44:09 am »
need to know what your pH & Alk. numbers are right out of the tap...much easier to dial it in if you know what you are working with originally...3 Tablespoons may be close, on the flip side some tubs (depending on water source) will need upwards of 8-16 ounces, just depends on the water source hence the need for "baseline numbers" for both pH and Alk.

The Wizard of Spas

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2016, 01:00:40 pm »
Knowing the pH/alkalinity of the source water is key.  Additionally, if you use, say, a total of 16oz (1lb) of reducer to finally get your pH and/or alkalinity in range, note that for the next time you fill the tub.  You can add the total amount to the footwell when you begin to fill the tub and by the time it finishes its first jet cycle the water should be balanced. 

Additionally- I have found that when lowering pH and/or alkalinity, it is most effective when the water is completely calm.  Running the jets is fine, but the most effective way to lower is to have the water completely calm.