What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Questions about Balancing/Testing water  (Read 2367 times)

dkodadek

Questions about Balancing/Testing water
« on: March 15, 2016, 02:18:33 pm »
Hi. I am a newbie, so I would appreciate any advice you guys can give.

We just got out hot tub a few days ago. I am trying to figure out how to balance the water. Right now my TA and PH are low. My questions are as follows:

1. The hot tub guy said to shock the water with non-chlorine shock BEFORE testing the water. If that is correct, how long should I wait before I test after adding the shock.

2. I have read different options on what I should work on first. Should I work on raising TA or the PH?

3. Whichever, I work on first, how long in between adding increase chemicals do I wait to test again?

4. When using the test strips is it best to have the water circulating or resting?

These might be dumb questions, I just want to make sure I get all this right. I appreciate any help you guys can give me!!!!

Hot Tub Forum

Questions about Balancing/Testing water
« on: March 15, 2016, 02:18:33 pm »

dkodadek

Re: Questions about Balancing/Testing water
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2016, 08:29:48 am »
I would love it if someone could answer these questions. I really could use the help!

Topline Mike

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2016, 12:00:42 pm »
TA and pH go hand in hand. 

My advice is to buy a Taylor test kit, K2006.  Test strips are vague, at best. 

If you bought a hot tub, you can afford the kit.  Get it. 

When the kit arrives, test the TA and let us know what it is.  Someone will help you from there. 

The Wizard of Spas

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2016, 12:07:47 pm »
1.  Everyone's source water is different in complexion and balance.  I wont answer what you should do as my tap/well water may not be similar.  Ill just say that my water is fairly clean and clear and I dont shock but rather move to the pH/alkalinity first when dealing with a fresh fill.