What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Dehumidifier recommendations for hot tub in a wooden enclosure?  (Read 3102 times)

Privateer

Dehumidifier recommendations for hot tub in a wooden enclosure?
« on: December 30, 2015, 01:58:39 pm »
Hi,

First of all, I'm a newbie so apologizes if I've posted in the wrong place!  :)

We just had our hot tub, which is a Jacuzzi 480, for a few weeks. It is out in the garden sitting on a new reinforced base of concrete. We have a cedar wooden structure built over it which measures 4 x 4 metres base, and 2 metres at the rear and 2.5 metres at the front, which is approximately 36 cubic metres.

When the hot tub is not in use, the cover is left covering the hot tub.

Having noticed condensation on the glass of the wooden structure, I put a humidity meter by the hot tub and found that the relative humidity was at times over 90%. The windows don't always have condensation on them.

Would I be able to use a normal house dehumidifier to control condensation? If so are there any that you can recommend?

What specifications should I look for?

Is it possible to have a hose pipe to feed from the dehumidifier to a bucket/tank/jar etc (but still inside the wooden structure) to allow the system to work for days without having to empty the internal tank of the dehumidifier?

Many thanks,

Hot Tub Forum

Dehumidifier recommendations for hot tub in a wooden enclosure?
« on: December 30, 2015, 01:58:39 pm »

av8r

Re: Dehumidifier recommendations for hot tub in a wooden enclosure?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2015, 06:38:23 pm »
I'd engage an HVAC engineer to determine what you need for this.  I doubt a home dehumidifier will be able to keep up with the load.  I think you're going to need a large fan drawing air out of the structure and an intake opening large enough to allow the fan to run efficiently.

Good luck.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2015, 09:59:36 am by av8r »

Tman122

• Ultimate Member
  • If it Ain't Broke