What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Help for a hot tub newbie  (Read 3102 times)

spiller1960

Help for a hot tub newbie
« on: June 02, 2014, 05:05:06 am »
Morning all

I'm a complete hot tub newbie - we just inherited a tub when we bought our house. I've never had one before and having read various guides on water care, and speaking to a couple of hot tub owners locally, they all suggest different things.

So - the spa is a Marquis Spa Mirage. Its about 10 years old.
The previous owners drained it for the winter.
I have cleaned the shell using some shell cleaner which they left (this was purchased from a local hot tub shop) and I have refilled the spa with cold water.
I have a new filter on order (never know what the previous owners were doing in there  :P)

What do I need to do next? Some people have mentioned running it for an hour, draining and refilling. Some have said just to add the correct amount of chlorine and get on with it.

What would you do?

Kind Regards
Mark

Hot Tub Forum

Help for a hot tub newbie
« on: June 02, 2014, 05:05:06 am »

Tman122

• Ultimate Member
  • If it Ain't Broke
Re: Help for a hot tub newbie
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2014, 06:53:47 am »
I would get a water test kit and tell us what your water readings are. For sure add some chlorine, especially if your going to use it.
Retired

spiller1960

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2014, 09:52:06 am »
Thanks, I was doing to put chlorine in for sure. I didn't know if it needed running with anything for cleaning the pipes/jets/pump etc first?

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2014, 01:45:46 pm »