What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Sundance Cameo on 50 amp Service???  (Read 11350 times)

Mudheadsports

Re: Sundance Cameo on 50 amp Service???
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2014, 05:30:28 pm »
Thanx clover!!!!!  We appreciate any tips we can get!!!!!!

Hot Tub Forum

« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2014, 05:30:28 pm »

kurt6137

« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2014, 08:34:26 am »
I work in the electrical field, I would recommend going with the 60a, I had the cameo and thats what i had installed, my total installation cost was 600 dollars, well worth, me not having to do it and i live in upstate NY. I personally would want the heater to work, while i have 2 pumps going, which is exactly what the cameo has. Although, I would look in the installation manual, it may require the same wire gauge and all that would be needed is to change the breaker (GFI) of course, but each state has its own electrical codes, so that is why the electrician, probably wanted to rewire, but even so, it shouldn't be that expensive to wire a tub, there really is not too much to it, if you follow the wiring diagram provided by the manufacturer. Of course, if you do it yourself, you will have to have a Master Electrician, sign off on it.

rosewoodsteel

« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2014, 09:49:15 am »
..... if you do it yourself, you will have to have a Master Electrician, sign off on it.

:)

Pers Onal

« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2014, 10:16:53 am »
This can be a pretty complex question.

Whether or not you can do it satisfactorily or not depends a good bit on ambient temp, and your usage.

However, whether it can be done safely or not ( with a reasonable safety margin ) depends on gauge of the wire, length of the run and duty cycle.