What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Gross - Please Help with Sanitizer  (Read 4518 times)

333president

Gross - Please Help with Sanitizer
« on: July 09, 2014, 03:32:39 am »
Hi Guys,
So I am a newbie. There was 6 people in my hot tub tonight. I am totally grossed out thinking about getting in my hot tub tomorrow after it was a giant bathtub for all of my neighbors, lol.

I have a Caldera Makena. I run the In Line Spa Frog, which puts in (very little) Bromine and Minerals. Then, typically after each use I throw in a large capful of Spa Essentials "Spa Shock Xtra" (which is chlorinated). After I put in a capful, this takes my sanitizer readings to above 20+ on the test strips. Please note though, that I use Bromine test strips and the shock is chlorine. Then, I'll use the spa again after the levels fall below 5 (usually 24 hours or so).

Is this a good system? Is this enough to keep things sanitized? If I get in the tub tomorrow, will this get rid of any bacteria, dead skin, etc caused by 6 bathers?

So grossed out. Thanks!
« Last Edit: July 09, 2014, 03:34:54 am by 333president »

Hot Tub Forum

Gross - Please Help with Sanitizer
« on: July 09, 2014, 03:32:39 am »

clover

Re: Gross - Please Help with Sanitizer
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 11:08:26 am »
Well, let's just say everybody got out squeeky clean.  I hear what you did to the water, but what does it look like, sparkling clean? crystal clear?  That's what you want it to be. 

After a heavy body load, which that was, sanitizer and shock are the right things to do, the other factor is the required filter time to clean the water.
Trying to be the unbaised voice of reason.

Topline Mike

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 05:27:34 pm »
If this grosses you out, how do you feel about public pools!