What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: HELP! Worried about tub freezing!  (Read 4662 times)

drober30

• Loving my HS Vanguard!
HELP! Worried about tub freezing!
« on: December 23, 2013, 10:22:02 am »
I'm in MIchigan and due to an ice storm thousands have lost power. Our power is estimated to be restored on December 28th.

My hot tub is a Hot Springs 2005 Vanguard, It sits inside an enclosed gazebo. It lost power yesterday morning (12/21/13) and was running at 101 degrees. It's wired using 220.

How long can I wait before I have to take action?

What do I need to do?

Thanks!

Hot Tub Forum

HELP! Worried about tub freezing!
« on: December 23, 2013, 10:22:02 am »

Chas

• Mentor Level Member
  • Hot water is Cool.
    • Spas etc.
Re: HELP! Worried about tub freezing!
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 11:09:06 am »
I'm not an expert in freeze-related stuff, living in California, but I would think that you have at least two options:

1.Drain the tub. Open both drain caps: one is the main drain for the tub, the other is the plumbing drain for just such times as this. Blow the tub and lines clear with a yard vac/ leaf blower (rent or borrow gas powered).
2.Find a way to power the circ pump. Not jet pumps, just the little circulating pump. This can be done by running power from a generator (even a teeny tiny one) to the pump directly. You will have to open the scary box and unplug the wires from the mother board, and then put power to them. Strip the end off a light-duty extension cord, strip a good inch of each wire from said cord, and wrap one each around the black and white wires which go to the small pump. Tape them up good for safety. Then plug that extension in to your back up source of power, which could even be a battery and inverter. The pumps in our current tubs draw only 55 watts, I don't know for sure what the wattage is for your '05, but it may be 90 watts. That small circulation will keep the tub motor compartment and plumbing safe for days and days.