What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Sundance Filter Door  (Read 5818 times)

Cayman

Sundance Filter Door
« on: July 30, 2013, 09:37:21 pm »
I have a Sundance Cayman 2006 model.  I'm new to spa care and one feature I'm not sure is working correctly is the floating door in front of the filter which houses the sanitizing tablets.  The door moves freely but will stay in the position its left in.  Does it matter what level the door sets at so long as the tablets are in the water?  Other than raising it all the way and keeping water from rushing in during high jet speed I'm unsure what the exact purpose is?

Thanks

Hot Tub Forum

Sundance Filter Door
« on: July 30, 2013, 09:37:21 pm »

wmccall

• Global Moderator
  • Mentor Level Member
    • https://www.facebook.com/BillMcCall1959/
Re: Sundance Filter Door
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 07:18:09 am »
Its primary purpose is to trap debris and keep it in the filter compartment for easy removal. If you have ever tried to chase a small leaf around the tub to get it out you will understand.  We soak a lot after dark and in the fall a couple of leaves may hit the water we don't see. The next day I reach in the filter compartment and pull them out.
Member since 2003.  Owner Dynasty Excalibur 2003-2012.   Sundance Majesta from 2012-current

mjb

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2013, 09:44:47 am »
The weir skimmer door should float freely with the water level.
When the jet pump is on the door should drop just below the
water level.
Please make sure if you are using "sanitizing tablets" that they
are bromine and not chlorine tablets.

Cayman

« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2013, 10:23:06 pm »
Thanks for the insight.  The foam in my door must be bad as it does not raise on its own but does move freely.   I am indeed using bromine tablets and not chlorine.  I did read on here that they are a definite don't use.

clover

« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2013, 12:10:00 pm »