What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: To go O'Natural or not ?  (Read 9636 times)

BuckeyeFan

To go O'Natural or not ?
« on: July 06, 2013, 05:01:19 pm »
Hello fellow spa owners.  I am a newbie to spa ownership. My husband and I just purchaced a 2013 model hot tub and so far we LOVE it ! We have been enjoying it now for 3 weeks and though the water chemistry has been a challenge to say the least,  I have been able to keep my levels spot on. Our spa has a ozone and we we're told to use the Frog bromine system. So my concern is are these chemicals we are useing be the cause of my UTI infection I recieved after only my third time using the spa ? I went to my doctor and he gave me a 7 day round of antibiotics.  I stayed out of the spa for a week and got in it last night. I tested everything and everything was in the ok to ideal range.  After about a hour of the spa I showered , then today I am experiencing a slight burning.  So I did some research and there are several "all natural" spa treatments out there. Are these products safe and are they effective at maintaining a healthy spa ? I love my spa and I don't wanna be one of those people who spend a ton of money on a hot tub just to turn around and have to sell it because it makes them sick.
  Please help with any advice.

Hot Tub Forum

To go O'Natural or not ?
« on: July 06, 2013, 05:01:19 pm »

Dr. Spa™ Ret.

• Ultimate Member
  • Retired (mostly) from the industry after 33 years
Re: To go O'Natural or not ?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2013, 08:46:05 pm »
antibiotics are prescribed to get rid of BACTERIAL infections. Bacteria in spas is caused by improper sanitation. NONE of the "all natural" spa treatments even come CLOSE to meeting the EPA guidelines to meet the qualification of a SANITIZER (READ the actual instructions for them...many require using as much chemicals as if you didn't use them).

You say you your levels are "spot on"... yet you got a bacterial infection.

What are you testing with?