What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: I'm back- this time cloudy water.  (Read 3409 times)

goneaway

I'm back- this time cloudy water.
« on: June 10, 2013, 05:04:56 am »
I've only had my soft tub a few weeks. The first weekend it was used really heavily, (garden party) so I drained it. Since then it's had light use, just myself and the wife at the weekends.
I didn't realize that chlorine dissipated, so was a little surprised that the levels had totally gone inside a day or two. I topped up the levels, put the covers on, came back a few days later, to find it needed doing again.
As I say, I'm still learning, so now If i know it's not going to be used for a few days, i'm double dosing the chlorine. I guess I should be buying slow release tablets ?

With the tub being stood most of last week, just circulating and maintaining a temperature, i came back to it on Friday, and thought the water looked a little cloudy.
Considering it had been shocked on Monday, was then covered up, and under a garden gazebo, why would the water go cloudy. (ish)
I'd assumed that any organisims would have been well and truly nuked with the double dose. ?

Also, what are your thoughts on an OXY shock over a Chlorine one. ?

Thanks Guys & Gals

Hot Tub Forum

I'm back- this time cloudy water.
« on: June 10, 2013, 05:04:56 am »

TwinCitiesHotSpring

Re: I'm back- this time cloudy water.
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2013, 11:07:20 am »
chlorine will dissipate at approx. 25% per day (more with heavy usage) so depending on how much you added on a Monday the levels could easily reach 0 ppm by the end of the week.  Once the level reaches 0 ppm it doesn't take but 6-12 hours for bacteria to start growing (great environment for bacteria..moisture + darkness) hence the cloudy water.  The resident water expert is user 'chem geek' and I believe his recommendation is 1.5 tsp, per person/per 20 min. of use but again it will dissipate on its own as well during the week so you'll need to add more sanitizer