What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Real World recommendations for filter changing  (Read 2305 times)

goneaway

Real World recommendations for filter changing
« on: June 07, 2013, 09:20:20 am »
Guys.

I'm new to all this, so please bear with me.
I have one of those 250 gallon inflatable "toy" tubs. (great fun though)
I've been researching "looking after your hot tub" on various search engines and am coming up with all sorts of conflicting information.
So my first real world question is regarding filter replacement.

Iv'e read on some sites which say replace every 3 or 4 days, which came as a massive shock to me when i found out that these were about £20.00 each, then on other web sites, i've read every 6 months, which i can live with.

At the moment, i'm running it under the cold tap and cleaning gently between the pleats with a paint brush every few days.

Am I being obsessive, not obsessive enough, etc etc etc.
What does everyone esle do.

Hot Tub Forum

Real World recommendations for filter changing
« on: June 07, 2013, 09:20:20 am »

drewstar

• Mentor Level Member
Re: Real World recommendations for filter changing
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 09:45:08 am »
I am not familliar with the soft tubs filtration, but on my conventional  tub, I'll clean the filter cartridge every time I do a water change (about every 3 months).  I soak my catridge overnight  in a 5 gal bucket filled with hot water and filter cleaning solution and then rise very well under running water in the tub  using a hand held shower nozzle, cleaning deep in the folds in the catridge and rinsing away all the solution and any debris.

I keep a spare clean filter catridge on hand so I can easly swap one into the tub while cleaning the other.