What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Beware what is behind the covers of these so called great spas !  (Read 8554 times)

kurt6137

Hello all, just wanted to post some new information for newbies, not once in all the forum topics here, have I read, suggesting to pull the covers off of the hot tub your looking to purchase and see whats really under the hood. Well, I did on a 2012 Sundance 780 series hot tub and glad I did. First off, its made in Mexico, 2nd, the motor was a LG, instead of the Emerson Motors you see in their videos. Insulation to me seemed poor, cables that were routed, were looped through a cardboard toliet paper roll (at least thats what it looked like.) The problem with all these manufacturers is they dont really label, whats really in the tub. I have been a engineer all my life and I know quality, when i see it, I am not saying Sundance is bad or any other tub for that matter, but if you really want to see whats inside these tubs, you have to have the dealer open them up. The individual parts that make up the tub and how they are put together will determine its worth and reliability. Who makes the motor, the pumps, the heaters and if they are truly titanium throughout, frames, electronics, it will drive you crazy, if you let it. To me, if I am going to lay out thousands of dollars, I want the tub to last more than 10 years. I was impressed with Hot Springs, when I pulled the covers off of that tub, the insulation was very well done and the fibercor on the limelight series seems to be done well. I know there are plenty of other makers of hot tubs that build a quality product . I just dont like manufactures having there work outsourced so they can charge more, make more for there overpriced executives and give the end user a cheaper made tub, without  the user even knowing it.

Hot Tub Forum

stuart

• Ultimate Member
  • Big hairy guys need hottubs too...
Re: Beware what is behind the covers of these so called great spas !