What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Outdoor Hot Tubs in New England Winters  (Read 21789 times)

hotubhotub

Outdoor Hot Tubs in New England Winters
« on: October 18, 2011, 08:50:34 am »
I am totally new to the world of hot tubs. We just purchased a Hot Springs Aria and if all goes well, it should be installed and running by the first week of November. We having a 12 x 12 deck addition built off of our existing deck and that’s where we are putting it. It will be off the back of our house and about 10 ft off of the ground. I live in MA and the winters can be just about anything that you can imagine. Given the way that it’s gone the last few years, I anticipate at least a few heavy snowstorms.
    I’m curious to know any tips & advice as to the best way to handle the elements from other owners who live in the northeast or similar climate. I obviously want to stay on top of getting the snow cleared from the tub and tub area. Are there special snow removal tools used specifically for hot tubs so that you don’t damage the cover? Are there special tarps or something similar that I should consider as well? Removing powdery snow is one thing, but when it comes to heavy wet snow and combinations with ice storms, I get visions of a major headache along with a backache.
   Long term I’m thinking of some sort of retractable awning but that’s not in the budget any time soon. The initial cost of the tub and deck is enough to digest for now.

Hot Tub Forum

Outdoor Hot Tubs in New England Winters
« on: October 18, 2011, 08:50:34 am »

Waterbug

Re: Outdoor Hot Tubs in New England Winters
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2011, 10:19:19 am »
  Hot tubs 10 feet off of the ground, make me nervous.  I like to put extra support in the area under the tub and it can be an eyesore on a deck that is elevated that high.  I hope that the load of the tub, with additional snow load, was calculated into the design og the deck.

hotubhotub

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2011, 12:50:21 pm »