What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: New versus used - thoughts and advice?  (Read 2774 times)

Mamba

New versus used - thoughts and advice?
« on: July 13, 2011, 05:38:29 pm »
Greetings, all...spa nOOb here. 

So I have my heart set on a Hot Springs Vanguard, like the size, the reviews, etc. - and wet-tested a new one fairly recently.  New, from an area dealer, I'm looking at around 8.5-9, not including the ACE(which isn't a dealbreaker for me).  I was sold, until I found a used one that seems to be in excellent condition, for $2500.  Kicker is, the spa is 70 miles away, so looking at moving expense - I have a quote for about $600 plus gas (reasonable?)- the risk of damaging it in the move, and the inherent risk of buying used.  I'm interested in hearing from some of you DIY'ers out there that know a bit about these - how easy is the Vanguard to troubleshoot/repair? Availability/compatibility of parts, aftermarket parts?  I will be a first time tub owner, but hub and I are both pretty handy - and obviously buying used would be sans warranty.  I could sure use that 6k for other projects.....

Thanks!  LOVE this forum - having a ball reading up and soaking in the wisdom.

Hot Tub Forum

New versus used - thoughts and advice?
« on: July 13, 2011, 05:38:29 pm »

shabba34

Re: New versus used - thoughts and advice?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2011, 05:53:24 pm »