What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Replace the skirt or ???  (Read 16630 times)

JulieMor

• IBEW Member since 1974
Replace the skirt or ???
« on: May 21, 2011, 03:22:47 pm »
I have a '93 Hot Springs Grandee.  We had a freeze and broke a couple of pipes.  In locating the breaks we removed a portion of the skirt and lost a few pieces in the process.  That's no problem as I am a woodworker and can make new pieces.  But what I'm wondering is would it be worth it to replace the entire skirt?  The wood is pretty weathered and has been power washed and even sanded a few times over the years.

I'm probably going to put all new pieces where we tore off the old, which is about 30% of the entire skirt.  I was just wondering, from the standpoint of cost vs. value, if it would be worth it to make the spa look new?  The wood shouldn't be more than $200 and as far as the labor, I think it would be fun to do it.  So it's more the money than the work.  If we don't do the whole thing then about a third of it will look new and the rest will look old, even if we fix it up.

We're already rebuilding the pumps, replacing the heater elements and the Moto-Jets and putting on a new top.  We're also purchasing a lift for the top.  We plan on selling the house in the next year or so but really don't know how much of an appeal a new looking old spa would have. 

So I was looking for input from those who have sold a house with an older spa, those who have bought a house with an older spa, or those who have knowledge about a spa's value when selling a house.

Hot Tub Forum

Replace the skirt or ???
« on: May 21, 2011, 03:22:47 pm »

Spatech_tuo

• Mentor Level Member
Re: Replace the skirt or ???
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2011, 05:50:10 pm »