What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: The dumbest electrician in the world fixed my Hot Tub.....HELP!  (Read 5464 times)

dude

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Where I live no one uses or knows what a GFCI is.  So, since it was tripping, my maid lets in an electrician while I am sleeping, he chops off all the wires to get out the GFCI and hot wires in a normal breaker.

Now I have ordered a new GFCI from another country but the problem is the cable from the GFCI box to the Tub is too short now.  It is under pavement so replacing it will mean ripping up the floors, ect.

Is using electrical tape safe to extend these wires?  It is a 4 wire hookup at 110v on 2 lines, ground and neutral.  Or does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

Hot Tub Forum

Jacuzzi Jim

• Ultimate Member
Re: The dumbest electrician in the world fixed my Hot Tub.....HELP!
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 08:02:53 pm »
 I am by no means a electrician so follow your own codes!  But, you should be able to add in a junction box and splice the wires together with the right connectors.   Basically its a 4"x4" hollow metal box. 

dude

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2011, 09:33:21 pm »
Thanks for the suggestion, and it is an interesting one I might consider.  But the box is close to the floor so I would probably have to rip up some of the floor this was.

Waterbug

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2011, 10:02:48 pm »
  Your options are limited by the volume of your connection box/panel and the gauge of the wiring to the tub.  For example: 20 Amp service generally requires 12 gauge wiring and 50 Amp service generally requires 6 gauge wire.  12 gauge wire is easy to work with, 6 gauge wire is nearly impossible to work with.  In either case, electrical tape is not the answer.  12 gauge wire can be spliced with wire-nuts.  6 gauge wire requires a different splicing device.  The volume of your box/panel may make splicing impossible.  Pictures would help.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2011, 08:51:45 pm by Waterbug »