What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Chemistry Issue  (Read 6768 times)

socal147

Chemistry Issue
« on: April 17, 2011, 11:38:19 am »
Constantly fighting pH.
I always find my pH drifting high.
I corrected an earler error reporting TC vs FC. Sorry for the confusion.

Day 1
Alk 150
CH 200 (This remains constant)
FC @1.5 - 3
pH @ 8
Add pH down to ph 7.5

Day 2
Alk 130
FC zero (0) adj to 1.5 - 3.0
Ph 8
Add pH down to pH 7.5

Day 3
Alk 110
Ph 8
Add pH down to pH 7.5

Day 4
Alk 90
Ph 8
Add pH down to pH 7.5

Day 4
Alk 70 - Adj to 150
Ph 8
Add pH down to pH 7.5

Go back to DAY 1 and repeat.

Is this normal?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2011, 04:01:44 pm by socal147 »

Hot Tub Forum

Chemistry Issue
« on: April 17, 2011, 11:38:19 am »

fdegree

• 2007 Sundance Optima
Re: Chemistry Issue
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2011, 12:29:38 pm »
I am not an expert on this stuff, and I still have a lot to learn.  But, I have found if I keep my Total Alkalinity (TA) down around 50, my pH doesn't rise quite so bad.  A TA of 50 may not be right for you.  If lowering your TA works, you'll have to play with it to determine what level is best for your situation.

Here something that was written by someone else that may help:

pH will have a tenancy to rise with aeration (i.e. use of jets and air), more so if your TA is high. Although, as long as you're not adding Acid (or anything with a lower pH) to your tub, the pH will not usually drop. Therefore, in hot tubs the problem is normally pH rise (or Drift), because of all the aeration. So the trick is to get the TA high enough to not create an unstable situation, and low enough to not allow pH to rise too much.