What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Hot Tub leaks  (Read 14659 times)

anxious2tub

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Hot Tub leaks
« on: May 20, 2004, 03:51:57 am »
Hello all   I am hoping someone out there can help me, I am new to the hot tubbing environment and anxious to try it out.... here is my problem I bought a 1997 Hot Springs model Sovereign hot tub for a very good price or so I thought, I bought it knowing it has a problem with the heater ( I was told it needs a new one for about 250.00 ) and it has 2 leaks ... it looks like it is leaking from the light lens and from one of the jets on the opposite side.  I siliconed the lens cover and around the jet but it still leaks both places.  I was told it is packed in foam and the best way to fix this is fill it up and put blue food coloring in it, let it leak out and dry and then tip it up and see where the leak is coming from  and chip away at it.  How hard is it to do this, I am a pretty handy person, the hot tub itself is in excellent condition any help on this would be appreciated.  I live in the Chicagoland area.  Thank You  in advance for any help you all may give me.
                               Joe

Hot Tub Forum

Hot Tub leaks
« on: May 20, 2004, 03:51:57 am »

Tman122

• Ultimate Member
  • If it Ain't Broke
Re: Hot Tub leaks
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2004, 05:31:37 am »
Why tip it on it's side if you know where it's leaking take that side panel off and dig the foam out to the leak.
Retired

rick

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2004, 01:15:04 pm »
Why I would never touch a full foam spa.  
Sorry to hear about your leaks.  My old CalSpa rotted away from a neglected leak.  
Follow the light people,  it's thermopane.  
Don't let these big companies fool you with their dinasaour, money-saving technology.  

Spatech_tuo

• Mentor Level Member
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2004, 01:41:46 pm »