What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: I need all the help I can get!  (Read 4919 times)

pinkx3

I need all the help I can get!
« on: April 01, 2010, 12:51:26 pm »
I would really, really appreciate any advice or opinions since I'm fairly new to this experience!   :)  I've been trying to convince my husband to buy a hot tub for over a year.  I think I've just about got him convinced; it will really come down to the price.

We live in an area with only 1 dealer in town (no competition).  They sell Caldera and only had 3 on the floor, one had water.  If possible we'd like to save $$ by getting a '09 model.  The dealer had a '09 C45 he quoted $7200 for.  In addition he also had a used Hot Springs Envoy '09- only a few months old supposedly.  Since it's used and he's not a Hot Springs dealer (he bought the tub from some guy who remodeled?, and the Hot Springs dealership went under in our town last year), there was no warranty.  When I expressed concern about that, he said since HS and Caldera are sister companies, he'd give me a 1 yr warranty.  Price was $5500, tax free.  Also, he told me that all warranties go with the owner, not the tub, so once we sell the house in a few years, the warranty wouldn't matter anyway.  I don't think I'd be able to wet test either of these options unfortunately...

Both my brother and in-laws have a HS, Grandee and Sovereign.  I am well aware of the HS quality and have enjoyed their tubs.  Is the Envoy that much different than the Sovereign?  I'm hesitant to buy used (what if it's a lemon?), but the price definitely seems good.  What questions/concerns should I have?
Also, is the Caldera priced right?  I initially was not interested in the C45, but it does appear to be a high quality tub..

I've already learned bunches coming here, thank you all so much!

Hot Tub Forum

I need all the help I can get!
« on: April 01, 2010, 12:51:26 pm »

Spatech_tuo

• Mentor Level Member
Re: I need all the help I can get!