What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Complete new hot tub or new spa pack?  (Read 2277 times)

gordholio99

Complete new hot tub or new spa pack?
« on: September 28, 2009, 02:33:57 pm »
Complete newbie to the forum and I hope someone has the time to respond to some pretty basic questions.

I have a 20-year-old hot tub. It has a truly massive gazebo surrounding it (about the size of a small cabin and with a large, shingled roof). It's built of long 2x2 boards. The tub is fully sunken into the gazebo, and is, in fact, custom fitted to it. The fit is very tight – even the 2x4 braces that support the gazebo butt right up against the hot tub's cedar skirt.

Anyhow, it's an old spa obviously. It has "air controls" on the topside to control the jet speed, but if I want to change the temperature, I have to access a rotary temperature dial that's located on the spa pack, underneath a very heavy trap door on the gazebo. There really are no other controls with the exception of an on/off switch (again under that huge trap door), and certainly nothing as advanced as a timer or digital control. In addition, the 2 HP pump/heater unit is at least fifteen years old. It's noisy (bearings?), it's been taken out for service twice in the past three years, and I have no idea how it's survived this long. The tub itself is in excellent shape, having had a roof over it forever. And it certainly isn't cracked or anything, undoubtedly because it's on a cement pad and is basically wedged in there so it simply cannot shift. But it has just four (4) jets. Yes, it is old.