What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: How old is old  (Read 7737 times)

Aggie67

How old is old
« on: January 20, 2009, 03:57:43 pm »
I have a Calspa that has a serial number that I traced back to 1981.  I bought the house 2 years ago, and I'm just this week starting to notice issues here and there with leaks and fittings that are snapping off.  Not to mention the floor is completely rotted away.

My son and I are planning on rebuilding the thing this spring.  Everything seems to be in great shape except for the wood.  I was also toying with the idea of enlarging the shell (someone in my area is selling a unit for a song but the guts are shot, says the shell is in great shape).  My unit fits 4 adults in comfort.  This shell I have my eye on sits 7-8.  I'm a contractor and an engineer, so nothing about this swap scares me.  I've even toyed with the idea of building an in-ground concrete spa.  

My question is how old is old?  How old does a spa have to be before you remove it from life support?  Other than the wood and a busted fitting, I haven't experienced any problems (he said, before the hot tub got swallowed up by a massive sink hole...).

But how old does it have to be before you take it out to the shed and shoot it?  Or do you nurture it as long as you can get it to go?

Hot Tub Forum

How old is old
« on: January 20, 2009, 03:57:43 pm »

Gary

• Laugh daily you will live longer
Re: How old is old
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2009, 06:11:13 pm »
Your question cannot be answered as a general question, some brands are old and done at 5-years some at 10...

For Cal I would say 5-years.
I am a scientist, I convert beer, wine and whiskey into urine.

Aggie67

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2009, 06:27:07 pm »
Thanks.  Now I'm confident I'm doing the right thing.

wmccall

• Global Moderator
  • Mentor Level Member
    • https://www.facebook.com/BillMcCall1959/
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2009, 07:33:14 pm »
Thanks.  Now I'm confident I'm doing the right thing.