What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Another PH question  (Read 16549 times)

Nitro

Re: Another PH question
« Reply #30 on: December 13, 2008, 02:29:20 am »
Thanks Richard for that very informative post.

For the record, Richard (Chem Geek) has never claimed to me to be the first to come up with the Dichlor/Bleach method. I called him the creator because he did come up with it on his own. And as far as I, and many others are concerned, he is more knowledgeable on this method (and water chemistry in general), than anyone out there. So, I should have said the "Master", instead of the creator, which would have been more appropriate.

As for my above approach to lowering TA. Like I said, it's not my approach. I just took an existing approach that has been proven to work, and created a flowchart for it. That's what I do best, because I've been doing it for over 25 years, programming computers. I'm going to quote Chem Geek here, "I prefer to assume the chemistry is valid, then see what happens, then adjust the model if theory does not match reality.  So far, this has worked reasonably well.". As far as I know, the Acid/Aeration method to lower TA has worked well for everyone who has used it. However, if anyone can come up with a situation where it doesn't work, I'd seriously like to hear it, so I can adjust the model.

In the meantime let's help Brian (and others) learn to balance his water, which is the reason why we're here. :)
« Last Edit: December 13, 2008, 02:30:54 am by Nitro »

Hot Tub Forum

« Reply #30 on: December 13, 2008, 02:29:20 am »

kervis

• runnergirl
« Reply #31 on: December 13, 2008, 11:03:28 pm »
AWESOME!!  I haven't seen such a fabulous debate here in quite some time.  Good points-no name calling--great information--just excellent!  
Some of you know that I happen to have the same issues as Brian, thus I will have to re-read some of this later, and again later, and then again....