What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Jacuzzi/Sundance going under?  (Read 17360 times)

Hot Tub Ryan

Jacuzzi/Sundance going under?
« on: December 08, 2008, 07:10:58 pm »
Hi everyone. I work in the industry and I lurk here from time to time to see what consumers are saying and how other dealers are doing. I finally registered today because a friend of my sent me a New York Times article with an interesting blurb about Jacuzzi in it and I wanted to get everyones take. I know there are a lot of Jacuzzi guys here too.

The article mostly focuses on Apollo Group (the company that owns Jacuzzi), it's management and business practices but this is the blurb that caught my attention...

"It acquired a broad range of companies — cruise lines, paper companies and grocery store chains. Mr. Black allows that five of those companies are “cyclically challenged.” Those five are the hot-tub manufacturer Jacuzzi; the accessories retailer Claire’s; Realogy (which owns Century 21 and Coldwell Banker) and the Countrywide real estate firm in Britain; and a gambling company, Harrah’s. WHILE Mr. Black remains upbeat about the prospects for those companies, some analysts say most of them are severely indebted and are crumbling quickly because of the economy.

It's actually a pretty fascinating article. You should read the whole thing and tell us what you think. Here's a link.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/12/07/business/07leon.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=apollo%20jacuzzi&st=cse

Hot Tub Forum

Jacuzzi/Sundance going under?
« on: December 08, 2008, 07:10:58 pm »

stuart

• Ultimate Member
  • Big hairy guys need hottubs too...
Re: Jacuzzi/Sundance going under?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2008, 08:12:27 pm »
It's ironic that everyone has been worried about the financial stability of the smaller, privately owned factories however, many of them may be better suited to ride this out then some of the mega conglomerates just because of banking.

Any way you look at it we're in a pretty good storm....