What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Initial Water Chemistry and N2  (Read 3450 times)

cedar tub

Initial Water Chemistry and N2
« on: October 22, 2008, 09:11:19 pm »
Hello All,
I have filled my tub with approx 488 gal of water.  I have adjusted my Alk up to around 90 and my pH is around 7.4.  CH is showing 30.  I've tested these using both Aquachek strips and a Taylor K2006 kit.  Jets are on, air is off and blower is off.  Is it OK to add the dichlor shock and N2 cart now or should I adjust CH?  BTW, the tub is up to 80F
« Last Edit: October 22, 2008, 09:30:56 pm by cedar_tub »
I've got wood and it's 5ft x 4ft

Hot Tub Forum

Initial Water Chemistry and N2
« on: October 22, 2008, 09:11:19 pm »

LStoner

Re: Initial Water Chemistry and N2
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 03:32:44 pm »
I'm no expert, but I think the N2 directions state to balance the water completely before inserting the cartridge and adding the dichlor to activate it. I believe the directions state to have the CH between 200-400. Have fun!

golferm

• Tiger River Bengal Owner
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2008, 05:50:13 pm »
Also, does anyone know when to use a "stain and scale" type of product with N2?

I emailed the N2 customer support, and they just said, "go by the recipe"

The recipe doesn't talk about stain inhibitors.  Our water here is very hard, so I'm going to have problems if I don't use some type of mineral inhibitor.

Thoughts??

cedar tub

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2008, 10:58:24 pm »
The N2 manual says to get the CH up to 200-400ppm.  I believe a stain and scale inhibitor removes calcium...correct?
I've got wood and it's 5ft x 4ft

LStoner

« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2008, 03:02:49 pm »