What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: What type of ozonator?  (Read 12475 times)

Gary

• Laugh daily you will live longer
Re: What type of ozonator?
« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2008, 05:24:01 pm »
Mixing chambers are "supposedly" to give the ozone more time, or ability to be absorbed into the water........... or so it's claimed.

I still challenge anyone, manufacturer or other, to produce the results of a peer reviewed study showing the effectiveness of ozone in a residential spa....Anyone? Anyone at all?

You know you will never see such a study.

Personally on my spa I did a little experimenting, I ran the spa 1 month with and 1 month without an ozonator. Both were fresh fills and usage and chemicals maintenance was the same. Of course there are other factors I could not control but for the most part the month with ozone I did have better water. Can you take care of the water without one, absolutely.
I am a scientist, I convert beer, wine and whiskey into urine.

Hot Tub Forum

« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2008, 05:24:01 pm »

Jet Sitter

« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2008, 07:20:20 pm »
I have read where many owners feel that ozone has been very helpful in reducing chemical usage in thier tubs - others report little or no benefit.  Dr Spa says that no one has yet produced a study that documents the benefits of ozone in a residential spa.

I think that I would be reluctant to add an ozonator to a tub that was not designed with a mixing or contact chamber to try to get more effective treatment and reduce the off gassing that is so hard on the pillow etc.  It seems that you could still have potential off gassig if the ozone output is high and your contamination is low.

I am still trying to decide whether we should get an ozonator in our new tub, but I have been thinking of going with the dichlor-ozone-nature2 approach that so many like.

snoopydance

« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2008, 07:29:44 pm »