What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Total Dissolved Solids  (Read 3355 times)

fdegree

• 2007 Sundance Optima
Total Dissolved Solids
« on: April 26, 2008, 07:08:04 am »
I am still quite new to all of this water chemistry stuff, so there are a few things that I don't have a full grasp on. One of them being Total Dissolved Solids (TDS). Therefore, I have a few questions:

1. What is Total Dissolved Solids?
   2. What contributes to TDS?
   3. How do you measure for TDS?
   4. What is the high limit where I should consider changing the water?
   5. If the TDS is below this limit, does the water truly need changing, even if it is beyond the recommended duration since the last fill...say, a year has passed?

Thanks!!!

Hot Tub Forum

Total Dissolved Solids
« on: April 26, 2008, 07:08:04 am »

tony

• Ultimate Member
  • 2002 Optima
Re: Total Dissolved Solids
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2008, 08:13:39 am »
I am still quite new to all of this water chemistry stuff, so there are a few things that I don't have a full grasp on. One of them being Total Dissolved Solids (TDS). Therefore, I have a few questions:

1. What is Total Dissolved Solids?
   2. What contributes to TDS?
   3. How do you measure for TDS?
   4. What is the high limit where I should consider changing the water?
   5. If the TDS is below this limit, does the water truly need changing, even if it is beyond the recommended duration since the last fill...say, a year has passed?

Thanks!!!

Total dissolved solids are residuals dissolved or residing in the water that don't get filtered filtered out.  It is like a glass of water that you add sugar to.  One teaspoon dissolves quickly but you know its there because the water is sweet.  Add more and the water quality changes and ultimately it will cloud up.