What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: electrical service  (Read 4184 times)

jkukla

electrical service
« on: April 07, 2008, 07:56:07 pm »
Hi,

We had an electrician tell us that we can not install the hot tub unless we have a 200 amp service in the house.

Does that sound right?  We though 100 amp would be good enough.  It would be for the Tiger River Bengal

Hot Tub Forum

electrical service
« on: April 07, 2008, 07:56:07 pm »

BauerN

• "...to feel is to believe."
Re: electrical service
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2008, 08:03:48 pm »
It depends on how much of the available 100 amps is in use.

If you're using most of the available current, then yes, you need to upgrade.
Bullfrog Spas Dealer.  Raising the bar for customer service.

Spiderman

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2008, 08:05:41 pm »
I guess that means you can't have an electric stove either............. ::)       I'm no electrical expert, but I don't know why a 100amp panel wouldn't work as long as you have two spaces available.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2008, 08:06:10 pm by Spiderman »
People suffer one of two pains in life:  the pain of discipline, or the pain of regret

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2008, 08:07:57 pm »
100 amp may be OK if you don't have high draw electrical appliances in the house. But some municipalities may require a larger panel.

I would first look at what you have running and the amps associated with them (big items) then I would contact your town and see what they say if an upgrade is required.

Big draw items are stoves, ovens, ac units and electric dryers.

Mez

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2008, 08:39:11 pm »