What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Baja spas  (Read 11726 times)

IL Parrothead

• Owner of 2008 Marquis Epic #2
Baja spas
« on: February 26, 2008, 05:29:22 pm »
Anyone know much about Baja Spas?  I just realized that there's a pool place about 2 blocks from my office that sells them.  Went in today.  Dealer was a very nice guy.  He was pretty knowledgeable, except when it came to insulation.  Told me that Baja was full foam. Gave me a brochure, and it shows that they use a "Weather Wrap" as an "alternative to full foam insulation".  It appears to be an insulating blanket that goes around the shell and plumbing, but doesn't fill the rest of the inside of the cabinet.
Anyone know about the quality of the tubs and their energy use.  The salesman claimed they have an Energy Star rating, and that they're second only to HS in low energy use.
I've been frequenting a couple of forums for 6 months or so and have read very little about them.  Just curious.
Mike

Hot Tub Forum

Baja spas
« on: February 26, 2008, 05:29:22 pm »

Richs100

• From a 1993 HS Prodigy to a 2006 HS Envoy
Re: Baja spas
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2008, 06:26:00 pm »
You may have been mislead by that dealer.  

I could be wrong, but as far as I know there is no tub that has an qualifed for Energy Star rating like you see with appliances.  I have seen pictures of a phony label used by some manufacturers that is made to look like the yellow sticker you see on a refrigerator, but it's not real.

Am I right, guys?
If you don't have anything nice to say about someone, come sit next to me.

IL Parrothead

• Owner of 2008 Marquis Epic #2
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2008, 06:30:01 pm »
Yep.  Went to their website.  They say they're an "Energy Star Partner -- a voluntary EPA program.....".
And their website has the garbage about fixing a leak on a full-foam spa.  
I'm getting turned off....... >:(
Mike

Vanguard

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2008, 08:43:23 pm »