What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: What should a start up kit have?  (Read 6350 times)

searchinginfl

• 07 Caldera Niagra
What should a start up kit have?
« on: November 29, 2007, 10:32:58 pm »
I had my Caldera Niagra delivered today. They said it came with a start up kit. This kit included a frog, Some Brilliance Chlorinating granules, and some Brilliance Oxidizer (potassium monopersulfite triple) which it says contains mineral salts. I asked for some test strips. That is it. Is that what usually comes with a starter kit?

I am a total newbie on this. My dealer and delivery guy just said to fill up the spa (they stuck the frog in) throw in a capful of chlorine, and a capful of oxidizer and run the jets. They said throw in a capful of oxidizer after each time I'm in and run the clean cycle. Add chlorine "once in a while". Nice advice, huh?

My electrician comes in the AM, so I won't fill it until late tomorrow. I want to use a chlorine system. What else do I need? Is this the right stuff?
Ivie

Hot Tub Forum

What should a start up kit have?
« on: November 29, 2007, 10:32:58 pm »

mark 2550

Re: What should a start up kit have?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2007, 10:45:36 pm »
The start up kit the dealer gives you is a limited amount, the start up kit I bought called (EZ om) included ez-prestart , ez ph-up, ez ph-down,ez-calcium,ez-om (used weekly "shock"}, ez-boost (used after each soak) plus 5 test strips  there was 6 different bottles cost was around $60.00 the one the dealer includes with the tub is just the basic's and usually about 1 month's supply.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2007, 10:48:57 pm by mark_2550 »

searchinginfl

• 07 Caldera Niagra
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2007, 10:49:04 pm »
This brings up another question. Where does everyone store their chemicals? I have kids, but I know I need to keep that shock handy.
Ivie

workerbee

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2007, 12:09:59 am »