What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: recessing spa in deck  (Read 6265 times)

JoAnnC214

recessing spa in deck
« on: October 09, 2007, 09:33:03 pm »
Hi, I'm a newbie here and have enjoyed learning from the posts.  My husband and I ordered a 2007 Hot Spring Grandee this past weekend.  We will be building a mid-level deck (about 5' high) for the hot tub, adding on to an existing deck (about 9' high) that is at the second-story level of our house.  We are thinking of recessing the spa half-way into the new deck, mainly for ease in getting in and out.  We're in our late 50's and not as agile as we used to be.  We'll be meeting with the deck builder soon and I'd like to know if anyone has any opinions, advice or suggestions about lowering the height of the spa. Thanks!

Hot Tub Forum

recessing spa in deck
« on: October 09, 2007, 09:33:03 pm »

D.P. Roberts

Re: recessing spa in deck
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2007, 10:24:36 pm »
We recessed the tub halfway into the deck in our last house. It did make getting into and out of the tub a lot easier. I think it's a good idea.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain

JoAnnC214

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2007, 10:31:58 pm »
Thanks so much for your reply..that's what I was hoping to hear!  Did recessing the spa present any problems for maintenance/repairs?

D.P. Roberts

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2007, 10:56:51 pm »
We built a removable section of the deck right in front of the equipment bay. We just lifted that section - approx. 1'x4' - out of the way when we needed to access the equipment pack. Looking back on it, I think I would have put these removable sections on all sides of the tub. That would have given us easy access to any side in case repairs were needed. It also would have allowed us to remove the spa & install a different one without altering the deck - we just would have made new panels for it instead.