What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: cloudy water  (Read 6215 times)

exit109gal

cloudy water
« on: August 10, 2007, 03:44:11 pm »
I got my hot spot tub  (sundance) about a month ago. They provided brillance chemicals and I had a lot of questions and got some help here on this site, I thought I was doing ok. I don't have bromine, they gave me chlorine instead.
This past week the levels were real low and the water was cloudy. I took the water to be tested and have put the required chemicals in, an awful lot it seemed. BUT the water is still cloudy.
My dealer does not seem real knowledgeable in this area. The young man who tests doesn't seem to know very much nor do the other people there.
thanks for any suggestions
Pat

Hot Tub Forum

cloudy water
« on: August 10, 2007, 03:44:11 pm »

Renee

• '07 Jacuzzi J-365 in Nebraska
Re: cloudy water
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 04:25:18 pm »
I'm a newbie as well, but from all the posts I've read, they will tell you to dump your water after a month of being a new owner and start over.  Another common suggestion is to not "over-care" for your water.  But like I said, at this point, I would change your water and go from there.
--renee

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2007, 06:57:14 pm »
First, as renee said - do a dump and refill but before you do - what are the numbers on the PH, Alkalinity & Calcium. Also hit the tub hard with chlorine before your dump.

How were you using the chlorine? The recommended way of using it is to get a 3 PPM reading of free chlorine 20 minutes after yo put it in. You can add before or after. I personally do it after but if you plan on having a party you should put it in before, maybe during and then after as well depending on the amount of people using the tub. You also need to put chlorine in when your not using the tub. Some people can go longer than others, I only get about 2 days before my tub clouds up.